Passion in the Khan’s Harem

_DSC1884

In Anticipation of the Premiere

The Astana Opera House is getting ready for the grand premiere of B. Asafyev’s ballet «The Fountain of Bakhchisarai». The main hall of the opera house will welcome true balletomanes, critics and ballet lovers on April 11 and 12. Kazakh choreographers Tursynbek Nurkaliyev and Galiya Buribayeva have created a new redaction of the famous ballet. Outstanding Italian masters Ezio Frigerio and Franca Squarciapino have worked on the design of the production. As we all know, each work of Maestro Frigerio is original, therefore the sets that he has created for the Astana Opera House are unique and no other theatre in the world has the same.

The Stream of Love, the Stream Alive     

Despite the large scale of the scenery, its combined weight is relatively small – only 8 tons. This was possible with the use of durable and lightweight material – aluminum. The workshops of the Astana Opera House made the rigid set pieces, concubines’ and the main characters’ beds and all the props for the production.

_DSC0920

_DSC0941 (1)

_DSC0931

The Astana Opera Scenic Projects Implementation Management made the basic working drafts. The set shop workers took the creative approach to the process of making even the smallest details.

_DSC0863

_DSC0870

For example, it takes one day to mold a jug and dry it, and about two more hours to paint it.

_DSC0868

The Italian masters did all the sketches as well. Most of the set pieces were made in Italy. Painstaking work was done by hand. Thus, the viewers will be able to see on stage the design constructions comparable to five-storey buildings. The width of the scenery is about twenty-three meters and the height is about twelve. The entire aluminum frame was covered with unique fiberglass finish. Master craftsmen did original hand-sculpting. They applied fiberglass coating onto the drawings on the different parts of the scenery, getting excellent shapes and then painting them. Ezio Frigerio, in love with the Eastern theme, also realized his artistic vision in the beautiful and complex art form of fabric painting.

_DSC0926

– There is highly advanced technology available in Italy that we are making confidents steps in reaching for at the moment. According to Maestro Frigerio’s plan, a screen the size of which hits any imagination will be used in our theatre for the first time. The set designer’s vision is for the audience to be able to see the three-dimensional picture of a very frightening fire at the Polish castle. Such a spectacle is almost never encountered in the world theatres, – said Viktor Karare, the Head of the Astana Opera Scenic Projects Implementation Management.

The production uses a lot of light – the work of Italian lighting designer Vinicio Cheli; the projections designer Sergio Metalli was responsible for the special effects. The upper machinery is involved in the first and second acts – all the large-scale set pieces will go up. This entire set design miracle – there is no other name for it – was traveling to Kazakhstan directly from Italy in four heavy-duty trucks for about ten days. Costumes from Milan arrived by plane, successfully landing in Astana after having spent 8 hours in the air.

«Oscar» winner for the best costumes Franca Squarciapino worked on their creation.

_DSC9017

The costume designer used fabrics from Italy; their unfamiliar names surprised our costume shop workers – Mexican raffia, acetate and others. Ms. Squarciapino also used traditional, customary for our seamstresses fabrics, such as silk, linen, organza, viscose, jacquard (one of expensive fabrics, as its production is labor-intensive) boucle (rough, plain weave fabric of fancy yarns with large nodules, located at some distance from each other) and many others. The colours do not allow for bored eyes – white, red, green, marsh, orange, natural blue, yellow, pink, gray and black.

_DSC9020

In total, the designer has created 186 costume sketches. The costume shop of the Astana Opera House made twenty-six outfits for the characters – the eunuchs, slaves, servants, Circassian infantry, Catholics and old Tatars.

_DSC9036

The fabrics for this small number of costumes were also purchased in Italy. Each character is written into the texture of the production with precision and accuracy.

_DSC1039

_DSC1082

_DSC1153

_DSC1139

Oh, Go, Go, Dear Flowing, Sing, Sing to Me Thy Saga Fair.

The production of «The Fountain of Bakhchisarai» triumphs on the world stages for 80 years. The composer Boris Asafiev specifically wrote the music for the special stage language of choreographic drama, accurate and easy for understanding.

Music Director of the new redaction of «The Fountain of Bakhchisarai» is the Honored Worker of the Republic of Kazakhstan Aidar Abzhakhanov. A lot of attention in this ballet is paid to the pantomime. The production involves 92 people including all the soloists, corps de ballet, actors and supers.

_DSC0335

_DSC0334

Three ballet artists – Baurzhan Mekembayev, Zhanibek Imankulov, and the Honored Worker of the Republic of Kazakhstan Zhandos Aubakirov are preparing the role of Khan Girey. However, on the first day of the premiere, the choreographer himself, the Honored Worker of the Republic of Kazakhstan Tursynbek Nurkaliyev will perform this role. The choreographer danced this part for thirty-six years, debuting in 1979 in the production of the creator of this ballet Rostislav Zakharov.

_DSC2196

The leading soloist of the Astana Opera House, guest soloist of the Op?ra National de Bordeaux (France), the Honored Worker of the Republic of Kazakhstan Madina Basbayeva will perform the role of Princess Maria. The ballerina will create a multi-faceted character. At the beginning of the ballet, she is a gentle and happy bride, ready to give all her love to her fianc? Vaclav. After her capture, surviving the pain of losing loved ones, she is an unhappy girl, living in constant state of fear.

Another very bright, interesting and complex character is Girey’s beloved wife – jealous Zarema.

_DSC0428

People’s Artist of Russia, artistic director of the «Astana Opera» ballet company Altynai Asylmuratova prepared the leading soloists of the Astana Opera House – the guest soloist of the St. Petersburg Eifman Ballet Aigerim Beketaeva, the Honored Worker of the Republic of Kazakhstan Gauhar Usina and Anel Rustemova for this role.

_DSC0424

– Rostislav Zakharov staged the wonderful ballet «The Fountain of Bakhchisarai» in what was then the Kirov Theatre, and since then it runs non-stop. All of the inherent traditions are handed down very carefully. The outstanding Russian ballerina Tatyana Vecheslova created the perfect image of Zarema and flawless execution of the scene by Ulanova (Maria) and Vecheslova (Zarema) is a benchmark for young artists today. People’s Artist of the USSR Olga Moiseeva took over the skills from Vecheslova, and, in turn, with thorough explanations and great love gave all the details of this role to me. Now I am working on this part with three dancers, they are all different, and I like that. Aigerim Beketaeva is a capable and gifted professional. Typically, these roles are not done immediately, as most of the roles in general, and I think that she will be a very good Zarema very soon. Gaukhar Usina is different Zarema, she is more impetuous, understands everything correctly, and we are looking for form of expression with her right now. Anel Rustemova is soft, feminine; she feels the character of the heroine in the right way. I try to explain the essence of Zarema’s character, who she is and why she does certain things. It is necessary for the ballerinas to be organic, to give them the right direction, so that they can try themselves as artists creating the image. They have to put this role on as the clothes that they wear; they need to be comfortable and free in it. The viewers who are not versed in ballet have to be clear which emotions are being conveyed and why. Art is made of little things. Not tours and height, but namely every little thing is important – how the artist stands or turns his or her head. I want the soloists to have enough strength, as, I repeat, the part is very complicated.

_DSC1913

The Repertory Classic

The world premiere of «The Fountain of Bakhchsarai» took place on September 28, 1934 in the Kirov State Academic Theatre of Opera and Ballet, Leningrad (Mariinsky).

Генеральный спонсор

Спонсоры и партнеры

Страсти в ханском гареме

_DSC1884

В ожидании премьеры

Грандиозную премьеру балета Б. Асафьева «Бахчисарайский фонтан» готовит театр «Астана Опера». Настоящих балетоманов, критиков и просто любителей балета ждут 11 и 12 апреля в Главном зале театра. Новая редакция известного балетного полотна принадлежит казахстанским хореографам Турсынбеку Нуркалиеву и Галие Бурибаевой. Художественное оформление спектакля создавали выдающиеся итальянские мастера Эцио Фриджерио и Франка Скуарчапино. Как известно, у маэстро Фриджерио все работы оригинальны, таких декораций, которые он создал для «Астана Опера», нет больше ни у одного театра в мире.

Фонтан любви, фонтан живой!

Несмотря на масштабность декораций, их общий вес оказался сравнительно небольшим -всего 8 тонн. Это стало возможным благодаря использованию прочного и легкого материала – алюминия. Жесткие декорации, кровати для наложниц и главных героинь, весь реквизит сделали в цехах «Астана Опера».

 _DSC0931

_DSC0941 (1)

_DSC0920

Базовые рабочие чертежи были сделаны в управлении реализации сценографических проектов «Астана Опера». Работники бутафорского цеха творчески подошли к процессу создания даже самых маленьких деталей.

_DSC0863

_DSC0870

К примеру, для того чтобы отлить кувшин и высушить его, необходим день, еще около двух часов понадобится, чтобы расписать его.

_DSC0868

Кстати, все эскизы также создали итальянцы. Основную часть декораций изготавливали в Италии. Кропотливая работа велась вручную. Так, зритель сможет увидеть на сцене конструкции, сравнимые с пятиэтажным зданием. Ширина декораций достигает около двадцати трех метров, высота – двенадцати. Весь алюминиевый каркас покрыт уникальным стеклопластиком. Мастера выполнили искусную работу по оригинальной ручной лепке. На рисунки, находящиеся на разных частях декораций, они нанесли стекловолокно и получили хорошую форму, затем ее расписали и аккуратно раскрасили. Эцио Фриджерио, влюбленный в тему Востока, воплотил свой художественный замысел и в тканевой росписи – прекрасный и сложный вид искусства.

_DSC0926

- В Италии очень хорошие технологии, к которым мы сейчас только идем, идем хорошими уверенными шагами. По задумке маэстро Фриджерио впервые у нас в театре будет использован экран, размеры которого поражают любое воображение. Реализация замысла сценографа заключалась в том, чтобы зрители увидели очень объемную картину устрашающего пожара польского замка. В театрах мира практически нигде не встречается подобное зрелище, — отметил руководитель управления реализации сценографических проектов и постановочных работ Виктор Караре.

В спектакле используется очень много света, над которым работал итальянский художник Виничо Кели, за спецэффекты отвечал художник по проекциям Серджо Металли. В первом и во втором актах задействована верхняя машинерия: все масштабные декорации будут уходить наверх. Все это декорационное чудо, иначе не назовешь, ехало в Казахстан прямиком из Италии в четырех фурах около десяти дней. Костюмы из Милана прилетели самолетом, преодолев 8 часов над землей, они успешно приземлились в Астане.

Над их созданием трудилась обладательница премии «Оскар» за лучшие сценические костюмы Франка Скуарчапино.

_DSC9017

Художница использовала итальянские ткани, их неизвестные названия удивили наших художников – рафия мексиканская, ацетат и другие. Франка использовала также и традиционные, привычные в работе наших швей ткани, – шелк, лен, органза, вискоза, жаккард (одна из дорогостоящих тканей, так как её производство трудозатратно), букле (грубая ткань полотняного переплетения из фасонной пряжи, имеющей крупные узелки, расположенные на некотором расстоянии друг от друга) и многие другие. Расцветка не дает скучать глазам – белый, красный, зеленый, болотный, оранжевый, натуральный синий, желтый, розовый, серый и черный.

_DSC9020

Всего художник создала 186 эскизов костюмов. 26 нарядов для персонажей – евнухи, рабыни, служанки, черкесская пехота, католики и старики-татары – изготовили в пошивочном цехе «Астана Опера».

_DSC9036

Для этого небольшого количества костюмов ткани также были закуплены в Италии. Каждый персонаж вписан в постановку фактурно и точно.

_DSC1039

_DSC1153

_DSC1139

_DSC1082

Ах, лейся, лейся, ключ отрадный! Журчи, журчи свою мне быль…

Спектакль «Бахчисарайский фонтан» триумфально шествует по мировым сценам в течение 80 лет. Музыка, написанная композитором Борисом Асафьевым, была специально рассчитана на хореодраму — особый сценический язык, точный и понятный.

Дирижер-постановщик новой редакции «Бахчисарайского фонтана» — Заслуженный деятель РК Айдар Абжаханов.

_DSC2377

В этом балете немало внимания уделено пантомиме. В постановке задействованы 92 человека – это все солисты, кордебалет, включая артистов миманса.

_DSC0335

_DSC0334

Партию Хана Гирея готовят сразу три артиста балета – Бауржан Мекембаев, Жанибек Иманкулов, Заслуженный деятель РК Жандос Аубакиров. Но в первый день премьеры в этой роли выступит сам хореограф-постановщик – Заслуженный деятель РК Турсынбек Нуркалиев. Эту партию хореограф танцевал в течение 36 лет, его дебют состоялся в 1979 году в постановке создателя этого балета – Ростислава Захарова.

_DSC2196

Партию княжны Марии исполнит ведущая солистка «Астана Опера», приглашенная солистка Оперы Бордо (Франция) Заслуженный деятель РК Мадина Басбаева. Балерине предстоит создать многогранный образ, в начале спектакля она – нежная и счастливая невеста, которая готова дарить всю свою любовь жениху Вацлаву. Затем, попав в плен, пережив боль утраты родных и близких, она – несчастная, находящаяся в постоянном страхе девушка.

Еще один очень яркий, интересный и сложный образ – любимая жена Гирея – ревнивая Зарема.

_DSC0428

Народная артистка России художественный руководитель балета «Астана Опера» Алтынай Асылмуратова готовила к этой партии ведущих солисток театра — приглашенную солистку Санкт-Петербургского государственного академического Театра балета Бориса Эйфмана Айгерим Бекетаеву, Заслуженного деятеля РК Гаухар Усину и Анель Рустемову.

_DSC0424

- Замечательный балет «Бахчисарайский фонтан» был поставлен Р. Захаровым в тогда еще Кировском театре, и с тех пор он идет безостановочно. Все изначально заложенные традиции очень бережно передаются из ног в ноги, из рук в руки. Выдающаяся российская балерина Татьяна Михайловна Вечеслова создала прекрасный образ Заремы, а безупречно исполненная сцена Улановой (Мария) и Вечесловой (Зарема) является эталоном для молодых артистов и сегодня. Народная артистка СССР Ольга Николаевна Моисеева переняла мастерство у Вечесловой и, в свою очередь, с обстоятельными объяснениями и с большой любовью передала все тонкости этой роли мне. Сейчас я работаю над этой партией с тремя балеринами, все они разные, и это мне нравится. Айгерим Бекетаева — способный и одаренный человек. Обычно такие партии сразу не делаются, как в общем большинство партий, я думаю, что вскоре она будет очень хорошей Заремой. Гаухар Усина – это совсем другая Зарема, она более порывистая, все правильно понимает, мы ищем сейчас с ней форму выражения. Анель Рустемова — мягкая, женственная, она правильно чувствует характер своей героини. Я стараюсь объяснить, в чем суть этого персонажа, какая Зарема, почему она идет на определенные поступки. Надо, чтобы балерины были органичными, дать им правильное направление, чтобы они сами попробовали себя в роли художников, создающих образ. Они должны надеть эту партию на себя как одежду, чтобы она сидела на них удобно, и они чувствовали себя свободно. Зрителю, который не разбирается в балете, должно быть понятно, какие ему передают эмоции и почему. Искусство делают мелочи. Не туры и высота, а именно мелочи, важно все – как артист встал, как повернул голову. Я хочу, чтобы солисткам хватило сил, так как повторюсь, партия очень сложная.

_DSC1913

Репертуарная классика

Мировая премьера «Бахчисарайского балета» состоялась 28 сентября 1934 года в Государственном академическом театре оперы и балета имени С.М. Кирова, Ленинград (Мариинский).

Генеральный партнер