Maira Mukhamedkyzy

Leading opera soloist

Honoured Artist of Kazakhstan, laureate of the State Prize of the Republic of Kazakhstan in the field of art and literature, the first Kazakh soloist of the Grand Opéra de Paris. Known as Maira Kerey in Europe and the USA.

Born and raised in the People’s Republic of China. She graduated from the Central University for Nationalities where she studied at the faculty of music and from the Beijing Conservatory (class of Go Shu Jen). In 1994, she moved to Kazakhstan. She has undergone training courses at the Almaty State Conservatory (class of Professor N.A. Sharipova). Since 1996, she has been a soloist of the Abai State Academic Opera and Ballet Theatre. Since 2015, she has been a leading soloist of the State Opera and Ballet Theatre “Astana Opera”.

REPERTOIRE:

Her European debut started with the role of Musetta (La Boheme by G. Puccini) at the Opéra National de Paris together with Roberto Alagna and Marcelo Álvarez, followed by the role of Adina in G. Donizetti’s L’Elisir d’Amore at the Opéra National de Lorraine in Nancythe Opéra de Rennes, the Théâtre de Caen and theOpéra National in Bordeaux.

In 2005, she debuted in the USA with the role of Agnès Sorel in P. Tchaikovsky’s The Maid of Orleans together with Mirella Freni at the Washington National Opera.

Her repertoire includes such roles as Azhar (Abai by A. Zhubanov and L. Khamidi), Zhibek (Kyz Zhibek by Y. Brussilovsky), Aisulu (Aisulu by S. Mukhamedzhanov), Violetta (La Traviata by G. Verdi), Micaela (Carmen by G. Bizet), Lucia (Lucia di Lammermoor by G. Donizetti), Liu (Turandot by G. Puccini), Musetta (La Boheme by G. Puccini), Adina (L’Elisir d’Amore by G. Donizetti), Marguerite (Faust by C. Gounod), Juliet (Romeo and Julietby C. Gounod), Gilda (Rigoletto by G. Verdi), Tytania (A Midsummer Night’s Dream by B. Britten), Glauce (Médéeby L. Cherubini), Angelica (Suor Angelica by G. Puccini), Silvia (Zanetto by P. Mascagni) Amenaide (Tancredi by G. Rossini), Donna Anna (Don Giovanni by W.A. Mozart), Norina (Don Pasquale by G. Donizetti) and others.

Her concert repertoire includes L. Beethoven’s Symphony No.9, the oratorios The Creation by J. Haydn and Elijahby F. Mendelssohn, Exultate, Jubilate by W.A. MozartStabat Mater by G.B. PergolesiPetite messe solennelle by G. Rossini and Bachianas Brasileiras No.5 by H. Villa-Lobos.

She gave solo concerts in Beijing, Hong Kong, Istanbul, Seoul, Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Budapest and all around Slovakia. She performed with symphony orchestra of the Beijing Central Opera House in the Zhong Shan Lee Tang Hall and twice in Cadogan Hall with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra of the Great Britain, as well as in the Konzerthaus Berlin, Vienna’s Hofburg Palace and the UNESCO Hall (Paris). Her repertoire also includes works by G. Fauré, F. Poulenc, C. Debussy, S. Rachmaninoff, P. Tchaikovsky, as well as Kazakh and Chinese folk songs.

AWARDS:

  • 1st prize at the National Competition for Young Opera Singers “Golden Dragon” (Beijing, China, 1988);

  • Special prize for artistry at the 1st N. Rimsky-Korsakov International Competition for Young Opera Singers (Saint Petersburg, Russia, 1995);

  • 1st prize at the 1st Tomás Alcaide International Competition (Estremoz, Portugal, 1997);

  • 3rd prize at the 11th P. Tchaikovsky International Competition and special diploma named after M.Y. Davydov (Moscow, Russia, 1998);

  • three diplomas in different nominated categories and a special prize at the Elena Obraztsova International Competition for Young Opera Singers (Saint Petersburg, Russia, 1999);

  • Tarlan” Independent Prize of Kazakhstan’s Patrons in the nominated category “New Name – Hope” (2000);

  • Laureate of the National Festival-Competition “Altyn Adam – Person of the Year in Kazakhstan-2004” (Opera star of the year);

  •  State Prize of the Republic of Kazakhstan (2008).

  •

Майра Мухамедкызы

Ведущая солистка оперы

Заслуженная артистка Казахстана, лауреат Государственной премии РК в области искусства и литературы,первая солистка парижской Гранд Опера из КазахстанаВ Европе и США известна под именем Майра Керей (Maira Kerey).

Родилась и выросла в КНР. Окончила музыкальный факультет Центрального университета народов Китая и Пекинскую консерваторию (класс Го Шу Джен). В 1994 году переехала в Казахстан. Стажировалась в Алматинской государственной консерватории имени Курмангазы (класс профессора Н.А. Шариповой). С1996 года – солистка ГАТОБ имени Абая. С 2015 года – ведущая солистка ГТОБ «Астана Опера».

РЕПЕРТУАР:

Дебютом на европейской сцене стали выступления в партиях Мюзетты («Богема» Дж. Пуччини) в Opéra National de Paris с Роберто Аланья и Марсело Альваресом, Адины в опере Г. Доницетти «Любовный напиток» в Opéra National de Lorraine в Нанси, Opéra de Rennes (Ренн), Théâtre de Caen (Кан) и Opéra National в Бордо.

В 2005 г. дебютировала на американской сцене в роли Агнесы Сорель в опере П. Чайковского «Орлеанская дева» с Миреллой Френи в Национальном оперном театре Вашингтона.

Также в репертуаре оперные партии: Ажар («Абай» А. Жубанова, Л. Хамиди), Жибек («Кыз Жибек» Е. Брусиловского), Айсулу («Айсулу» С. Мухамеджанова), Виолетты («Травиата» Дж. Верди), Микаэлы («Кармен» Ж. Бизе), Лючии («Лючия ди Ламмермур» Г. Доницетти), Лю («Турандот» Дж. Пуччини), Мюзетты («Богема» Дж. Пуччини), Адины («Любовный напиток» Г. Доницетти), Маргариты («Фауст» Ш. Гуно), Джульетты («Ромео и Джульетта» Ш. Гуно), Джильды («Риголетто» Дж. Верди), Титании («Сон в летнюю ночь» Б. Бриттена), Главки («Медея» Л. Керубини), Анжелики («Сестра Анжелика» Дж. Пуччини), Сильвии («Занетто» П. Масканьи), Аменаиды («Танкред» Дж. Россини), Донны Анны («Дон Жуан» В.А. Моцарта), Норины («Дон Паскуале» Г. Доницетти) и другие.

В концертном репертуаре – Симфония №9 Л. Бетховена, оратории «Сотворение мира» Й. Гайдна, «Илия» Ф. Мендельсона, Exultate Jubilate В.А. Моцарта, Stabat Mater Дж. Перголези, «Маленькая торжественная месса» Дж. Россини, Bachianas Brasileiras №5 Э. Вила-Лобоса.

С сольными концертами гастролировала в Пекине, Гонконге, Стамбуле, Сеуле, Москве, Санкт-Петербурге, Будапеште и по Словакии; выступала с симфоническим оркестром Центрального оперного театра Пекина в холле «Жон Шань Ли Тан», а также дважды в Кадоган-холле с Лондонским Королевским симфоническим оркестром Великобритании, в берлинском Концертхаусе, в венском Дворце Хофбург, в Зале ЮНЕСКО (Париж). Исполняла произведения Г. Форе, Ф. Пуленка, К. Дебюсси, С. Рахманинова, П. Чайковского, а также казахские и китайские народные песни.

НАГРАДЫ:

  • Первая премия на Всекитайском конкурсе молодых оперных певцов «Золотой дракон» (Пекин, Китай, 1988);

  • Специальный диплом за артистизм на I Международном конкурсе молодых оперных певцов имениН.А. Римского-Корсакова (Санкт-Петербург, Россия, 1995);

  • Первая премия на I Международном конкурсе имени Томаса Алкайде (Эштремош, Португалия, 1997);

  • Третья премия на XI Международном конкурсе имени П. Чайковского и специальный диплом имени М.Я. Давыдова (Москва, Россия, 1998);

  • Три диплома в разных номинациях и специальная премия на Международном конкурсе молодых оперных певцов Елены Образцовой (Санкт-Петербург, Россия, 1999);

  • Независимая премия меценатов Казахстана «Тарлан» в номинации «Новое имя – надежда» (2000);

  • Лауреат национального фестиваля-конкурса «Алтын Адам – Человек года в Казахстане-2004» (Звезда оперного искусства года);

  • Государственная премия Республики Казахстан (2008).