Beware of the Mice in the Ballet!

The legendary choreographer Yuri Grigorovich is back at the “Astana Opera”. “The Nutcracker” is maestro’s third ballet to be staged at the metropolitan theatre. Recognized masterpieces of world choreography “Sleeping Beauty” and “Spartacus” staged by him were a huge hit with the Kazakhstani audience, we are confident that the ballet “The Nutcracker” – the world’s favorite enticing extravaganza with deep philosophical meaning will definitely deserve high marks our viewers. The premiere will take place on December 25, 27, 28, 30, and 31.

 1

_DSC4395

The libretto for the ballet is based on Alexander Dumas father’s transcription of the tale by E.T.A. Hoffmann “The Nutcracker and the Mouse King”, created in 1844. The heart of the story is this: on the children’s Christmas ball little Marie received the gift of toys. Of these, the one she liked the most is the Nutcracker that cracks nuts with its wooden jaws. At night, Marie sees that mice are going to fight the toys, and the Nutcracker is leading the toys’ defense. Protecting her favorite, Marie throws a shoe at the Mouse King; Nutcracker-Prince inflicts the final blow. Heroes are dancing and having fun, celebrating victory over the mice army. Everyone is preparing for the royal wedding of Marie and Prince… However, what happened? Marie wakes up in a familiar room. The Nutcracker is still in her hands. All of it was just a magical dream…

In critics’ words, “in world music literature there aren’t any examples of the process of maturation of the soul of the girl playing with dolls, to the dawn of first love through the dreams of the brave, courageous hero – the process of “nurturing the senses””.

The brilliant music of the outstanding composer P.I. Tchaikovsky conveys all of the heroine’s experiences, the enormity of his musical work requires huge embodiments in dance. It should be noted that it was Yuri Grigorovich, who understood and precisely conveyed this deep work. Individual dance pieces that he created cause great emotion, in both adults and children: dancing snowflakes creating fantastic image of silent winter nature, comedic Chinese dance “tea” and dance “coffee”.

_DSC4003

All of the divisions in “Astana Opera” are preparing for a fabulous New Year’s premiere, ranging from scenic workshop and ending with the technical department. Prop masters are putting the finishing touches, while joking that the play is going to be snowy. Fifty pairs of snowflakes made of nylon mesh on the thin metal base will create the illusion of snow falling on the stage.

_DSC4009

_DSC4017

_DSC4019

2

However, that’s not all, in the prop masters’ arsenal there is a complex drum, glowing from within, made of very durable material so that the dancer can not only balance, but also to perform certain movements on top of it.

_DSC4021

Fully transferred production of the Bolshoi Theatre, which premiered with great triumph on March 12, 1966, will soon surprise metropolitan audience with its scale and beauty. Boat on the ropes, big and small cannon, firecrackers, sheep, fans, 22 wigs, about 200 costumes show a bright rich color palette. The set designer is People’s Artist of the USSR, laureate of Lenin’s Prize, two second-degree Stalin’s Prizes, State Prize winner Simon Virsaladze. They say about the great artist that he “dressed dance”.

_DSC4028

The ballet artists are carefully preparing for their parts.

_DSC4881

_DSC5101

3

Tair Gatauov recalls that when he was a child, he wanted to perform the lead role on the big stage, but students of his age could only dance in the crowd scenes. Time passed, and now he dances the lead role. – Despite its seeming ease and dreamlike quality, this production is very complicated; it requires the dancers’ maximum efforts. I will dance the role of the Nutcracker-Prince, which involves a large number of supports; for two hours you are on stage like an “elevating crane”, – laughs Tair Gatauov.

Of course, each female dancer dreams to perform Marie (Aigerim Beketayeva, Madina Basbayeva, Gaukhar Usina), but this ballet has many bright and memorable characters – Harlequin, Columbine, He-Devil and She-Devil, Spanish, Indian, Chinese, Russian and French Dolls.

_DSC4444

_DSC4465

The assistants of the choreographer Yuri Grigorovich Ruslan Pronin and Oxana Tsvetnitskaya work on this performance. The maestro himself works out the final touches.

_DSC4493

_DSC4745

4

About 20 years ago to go to see “The Nutcracker” on a New Year’s Eve was a must-see destination for the Moscow elite. In this case, it was not necessarily to be a ballet expert – visiting the “status event” was the most important. It was particularly prestigious to see “The Nutcracker” on December 31 at the Bolshoi Theatre – it started the magical holiday. We hope that this production will be a huge success in “Astana Opera” as well.

_DSC4498

Especially for the youngest viewers the theatre did a morning performance. In addition, the gifts they will receive before the start of the performance were prepared.

_DSC5045 - Version 2

Photo: Copyright © Astana Opera, 2014
Photographer: Karla Nur

Генеральный спонсор

Спонсоры и партнеры

Осторожно, в балете мыши!

Хореограф-легенда – Юрий Григорович снова в «Астана Опера». «Щелкунчик» — уже третий спектакль маэстро, который будет ставиться в столичном театре. Признанные шедевры мировой хореографии «Спящая красавица» и «Спартак» в его постановке имели огромный успех у казахстанской публики, мы уверены, что и балет «Щелкунчик» — любимая миром завлекательная феерия с глубоким философским смыслом, обязательно заслужит высокие оценки нашего зрителя. Премьера ждет жителей и гостей столицы 25, 27, 28, 30, 31 декабря.

1

_DSC4395

В основе либретто к балету лежит переложение сказки Э.Т.А. Гофмана «Щелкунчик и мышиный король», созданное в 1844 году Александром Дюма-отцом. Суть такова: на детском рождественском балу маленькая Мари получила в подарок игрушки. Из них ей больше всего понравился Щелкунчик, разгрызающий деревянными челюстями орехи. Ночью Мари видит, что на игрушек с боем идут мыши, а защиту игрушек возглавляет Щелкунчик. Вступаясь за любимца, Мари бросает башмачок в короля мышей, Щелкунчик-Принц наносит им последний удар. Герои танцуют и веселятся, празднуя победу над мышиным войском. Все готовятся к королевской свадьбе Мари и Принца… Но что случилось? Мари просыпается в знакомой комнате. Щелкунчик всё ещё у неё в руках. Это был всего лишь волшебный сон…

Говоря словами критиков, «в мировой музыкальной литературе нет примера, отвечающего процессу созревания души у девочки, играющей в куклы, до первых зорей любви сквозь мечты о храбром, мужественном герое – процессу «воспитания чувства»».

Все переживания героини переданы в гениальной музыке выдающегося композитора П.И. Чайковского, грандиозность его музыкальной работы требует колоссальных воплощений в танце. Нужно отметить, что именно Юрию Григоровичу удалось точно понять и передать это глубокое произведение. Отдельные номера, созданные им, вызывают огромные эмоции, как у взрослых, так и у детей: танец снежинок, создающий фантастический образ молчаливой зимней природы, комедийный китайский танец «чай» и танец «кофе». 

_DSC4003

В «Астана Опера» в подготовке к сказочной новогодней премьере готовятся все службы, начиная от декорационного цеха и заканчивая техническим отделом. Бутафоры наносят последние штрихи, при этом шутя, что спектакль обещает быть снежным. Пятьдесят пар снежинок из капроновой сетки на тонкой металлической основе создадут на сцене иллюзию снегопада.

_DSC4009

_DSC4017

_DSC4019

2

Но и это не все, в арсенале бутафоров есть еще непростой барабан, светящийся изнутри, а сделан он из очень прочного материала так, чтобы балерина смогла на нем не только устоять, но и выполнить определенные движения.

_DSC4021

Полностью перенесенная постановка из Большого театра, премьера которой прошла с большим триумфом 12 марта 1966 года, совсем скоро удивит столичную публику своей масштабностью и красочностью. Кораблик на тросах, пушка большая и малая, хлопушки, барашки, веера, 22 парика, около 200 костюмов, демонстрирующих яркую богатую цветовую палитру. Сценография народного художника СССР, Лауреата Ленинской, двух Сталинских второй степени премий, лауреата Государственной премии Симона Вирсаладзе. О величайшем художнике говорят, что он «одевал танец».

_DSC4028

Артисты балета тщательно готовят свои партии.

_DSC4881

_DSC5101

3

Таир Гатауов вспоминает, что когда был еще ребенком, мечтал выйти на большую сцену в главной партии, но ученикам его возраста можно было танцевать только лишь в массовых сценах. Прошло время, и теперь он исполняет заглавную роль. – Несмотря на свою внешнюю легкость и сказочность, этот спектакль очень сложен, он требует от танцовщиков максимальной отдачи. Я буду исполнять роль Щелкунчика-Принца, которая предполагает большое количество поддержек, в течение двух часов ты находишься на сцене, словно «подъемный кран», — смеется Таир Гатауов.

Конечно, каждая балерина мечтает исполнить партию Мари (Бекетаева Айгерим, Басбаева Мадина, Усина Гаухар), но в этом балете есть очень яркие и запоминающиеся персонажи – Арлекин, Коломбина, Черт и Чертовка, Испанские, Индийские, Китайские, Русские и Французские куклы.

_DSC4444

_DSC4465

Над этим спектаклем трудятся ассистенты хореографа-постановщика Юрия Николаевича Григоровича – Руслан Михайлович Пронин и Оксана Олеговна Цветницкая. Сам маэстро отрабатывает последние штрихи.

_DSC4493

_DSC4745

4

Около 20 лет назад сходить в канун Нового года на «Щелкунчика» было обязательным пунктом для московской элиты. При этом совсем не обязательно было быть экспертом в балете — главное, посетить «статусное событие». Особенно престижным считалось посмотреть «Щелкунчика» 31 декабря в Большом театре – с него начинался волшебный праздник. Надеемся, что и в «Астана Опера» этот спектакль обретет огромный успех.

_DSC4498

Специально для самых маленьких зрителей в театре сделали утренний спектакль, кроме того, ребятам приготовили подарки, которые они получат перед представлением.

_DSC5045 - Version 2

Photo: Copyright © Astana Opera, 2014
Photographer: Karla Nur

Генеральные партнеры

Спонсоры и партнеры