ATTILA

rep3Lyric drama in three acts with prologue.

Libretto: T.Solera and F.Piave based on the tragedy by Z.Werner.

Time and place: 452-453, Italy: Aquileia, Rome

“Attila”, one of the earliest operas by Verdi, can be called a “scenic rarity”, and every experience of its production undoubtedly becomes an event. The opera embodies historical events of the 5th century, where the Roman Empire was subjected to powerful attacks of the mighty nomadic tribes who came from Asia and called themselves Huns. Name of the king Attila caused fear and terror among the peoples of the Roman Empire. Having conquered many European tribes, Attila began to dream of the conquest of Rome. The young emperor Valentinian III was inexperienced in matters of state. General Aetius, known as the last shield of Rome, became the real adversary to Attila.

The plot of the story stirred many European writers who were interested in these characters. One of the striking works is a tragedy by Friedrich Ludwig Zacharias Werner “Attila, King of the Huns,” written in 1808. The works of Werner, the founder of a new genre called “tragedy of fate”, were noted for their vivid theatrical effects and historical figures. Werner’s creations enjoyed wide popularity among the German public, Goethe himself supported him, and so “Attila” was immediately staged in different theatres in Germany.

Verdi became acquainted with the play in 1844, and, carried away, by his own words found in the tragedy “things that are gorgeous and very impressive”, great choruses and “three excellent characters.” Namely, Attila – a character that “does not allow for any changes”; Idelgonda – historical Ildiko, who then gained an Italian name Odabella in the opera; Aetius – “he’s magnificent and I like him in a duet with Attila, when he offers to divide the world between the two of them … Would have to come up with an effective fourth character”. In Verdi’s opinion, that might be Idelgondy’s fianc? Walter, who likewise was later renamed with an Italian name Foresto. The scene with Pope Leo on the Aventine Hill, one of the Seven Hills of Rome, while there is a battle at the bottom made a tremendous impression on the composer. The early death of Aetius did not suit him also: he had to take part in the conspiracy against Attila together with the heroine and her fianc? (as a result, in accordance with history, Aetius remains alive until the death of Attila in the opera). Everything interested the composer: the era, the setting, and the historical figures. He even asked a sculptor whom he had known to send him a sketch of Attila’s costume at the fresco by Raphael and specify the colors of the garments, paying special attention to the headdress.

As a librettist for “Attila” Verdi chose Francesco Maria Piave (1810-1876), with whom he became acquainted while working on “Ernani.” Later, Temistocle Solera (1815 – 1878), author of poems, novels, and even operas, whom Verdi valued for the knowledge of the theatre, has continued the work on the libretto.

Extensive crowd scenes, finals (quintets with the choir), spectacular arias, energetic, oftentimes march style rhythms, catchy melodies, not very pronouced psychological depth and subtlety – these are the characteristic features of the opera.

The premiere of the opera “Attila” was held on March 17, 1846 at the Teatro La Fenice in Venice. According to Verdi, “Attila”: “It has been generally good. … My friends tend to think this is the best opera I have ever written. The public is debating. I say that “Attila” is not weaker than my previous operas, but only time will tell.” The opera was staged in major world theatres and still remains in the repertoire: Arena di Verona, Verona (1985); Grand Opera, Paris (2001); Teatro Municipale di Piacenza, Modena (2007); Teatro Segura, Lima (2009); Metropolitan Opera, New York (2010); La Scala, Milan (1991, 2011), the Mariinsky theatre, St. Petersburg (2010, 2013), etc.

Генеральный спонсор

Спонсоры и партнеры

Опера «Аттила»

rep3Лирическая драма в трех актах с прологом. Либретто: Ф. Солера и Ф. Пиаве по трагедии З. Вернера.
Место и время действия: 452-453 гг., Италия: Аквилея, Рим.

 

«Аттила» — одна из ранних опер Верди, которую можно назвать «сценическим раритетом», и каждый опыт ее постановки заведомо становится событием. В опере воплощены исторические события 5 века, где Римская империя подвергалась атакам могучих кочевых племен пришедших с Азии, называвших себя гуннами. Имя царя Аттилы вызывало страх и ужас у народов Римской империи. Покорив много европейских племен, Аттила стал мечтать о завоевании Рима. Молодой император Валентиниан III был неопытен в делах государства. Настоящим соперником Аттилы стал полководец Аэций, прозванный последним щитом Рима.

Сюжет данной истории будоражил многих европейских писателей, которых интересовали эти герои. Одним из ярких произведений является трагедия Фридриха Людвига Захариаса Вернера «Аттила, царь гуннов», написанная в 1808 году. Произведения Вернера, создателя нового жанра «трагедии рока», были отмечены яркими театральными эффектами и историческими героями. Творчество Вернера пользовалось широкой популярностью у немецкой публики, его поддерживал сам Гёте, благодаря чему «Аттила» был сразу же поставлен в различных театрах Германии.

Верди познакомился с пьесой в 1844 году и, увлекшись, по его же собственным словам, нашел в трагедии «вещи великолепные и очень впечатляющие», замечательные хоры и «три превосходных характера». Это Аттила — образ, «не допускающий каких-либо изменений»; Идельгонда — историческая Ильдико, получившая затем в опере итальянское имя Одабелла; Аэций — «он великолепен и нравится мне в дуэте с Аттилой, когда предлагает разделить мир между ними двумя … Следовало бы придумать четвертый действенный характер». Им, по мнению Верди, мог стать жених Идельгонды Вальтер, названный впоследствии также итальянским именем Форесто. Огромное впечатление произвела на композитора и сцена с Папой Львом: тот находится на Авентинском холме, одном из семи холмов Рима, в то время как внизу происходит сражение. Не устраивала его и ранняя смерть Аэция: который должен был вместе с героиней и ее женихом принять участие в заговоре против Аттилы (в результате, в опере Аэций, в соответствии с историей, остается живым до смерти Аттилы). Композитора интересовало все: эпоха, обстановка, исторические лица. Он даже попросил знакомого скульптора прислать ему зарисовку костюма Аттилы на фреске Рафаэля и указать цвета одеяния, обратив особое внимание на головной убор.

В качестве либреттиста «Аттилы» Верди выбрал Франческо Марию Пиаве (1810—1876), с которым познакомился во время работы над «Эрнани». Месяц спустя после премьеры «Эрнани», 12 апреля 1844 года, композитор посылает Пиаве экземпляр трагедии Вернера. Однако работа над «Аттилой» началась не сразу. Лишь в сентябре 1845 года вернувшийся в Милан, Верди принялся за сочинение «Аттилы». Текст, написанный Пиаве, он теперь передал Темистоклу Солере (1815 — 1878), автору поэм, романов и даже опер, которого ценил за знание театра. Однако «Аттила» оказался их последней (пятой) совместной, к тому же незавершенной работой. Протестуя против переделок, требуемых Верди, Солера внезапно уехал в Барселону, и композитор с трудом получил обратно незавершенное либретто, чтобы вновь передать его Пиаве.

Обширные массовые сцены, финалы (квинтеты с хором), эффектные арии, энергичные, нередко маршевые ритмы, броские мелодии при отсутствии психологической глубины и тонкости — вот характерные черты оперы.

Премьера оперы «Аттила» состоялась 17 марта 1846 года в театре Ла Фениче (Венеция). По словам Верди, «Аттила» «Прошел в общем хорошо. … Друзья мои склонны считать эту оперу лучшей из написанных мною. В публике — споры. Я же говорю, что «Аттила» не слабее моих предыдущих опер: время рассудит». Опера была поставлена в крупнейших театрах мира и до сих пор сохраняется в репертуаре: Arena di Verona, Верона (1985); Grand Opera, Париж (2001); Teatro Municipale di Piacenza, Модена (2007); Teatro Segura, Лима (2009); Metropolitan Opera, Нью-Йорк (2010); La Scala, Милан (1991, 2011), Мариинский театр, Петербург (2010, 2013) и др.

Генеральный спонсор

Спонсоры и партнеры