Lorenzo Amato: “I am a strange Italian”

The Stage Director of the opera “Madama Butterfly” Lorenzo Amato has a great sense of music, shares secrets of the acting skills with the performers, likes to cook and create new recipes. In his interview, the Italian master shared his impressions from working with the Kazakhstani opera singers and talked about why he likes the weather in Astana.

_DSC4871

– You have spent more than one rehearsal working with our artists, how do you evaluate their level of training?

– “Madama Butterfly” is a very difficult opera for the singers. The only difference between the Italian and Kazakhstani interpreters is that it is easier for Italians because of the language proficiency. The performers’ level is high, but the difficulties are still there, because in this kind of theatre, in verismo theatre, the power of the word, the meaning of the word is extremely important, so the full knowledge of the language makes the work easier. Of particular importance is the acting, as the opera was based on David Belasco’s drama “Madame Butterfly: A Tragedy of Japan”.

 What do you consider the most important thing in this production?

– There are many important things. As a director, for me the thing that comes first when I stage a production is the music. In “Madama Butterfly”, the music is very beautiful, extremely powerful and moving; it makes the audiences all over the world cry. This opera is very particular among the entire world opera repertoire, because at the end the two main characters are the two women. The tenor is not such a big role in this scene, and for the most part of the performance, we would see two women on stage. There is a strong line of friendship being built between the two women: a relationship of loyalty and devotion; in the end, the imaginary love fades into the background.

– How would you characterize Madama Butterfly, how do you see her?

– Cio-Cio-san or Madama Butterfly is one of the most demanding and difficult characters in the whole opera repertoire. In the beginning, she is a young girl, supposedly fifteen years of age. She renounces her parents, her family, and her religion in order to marry this American man with vile, heinous intentions… and he takes advantage of her. In the second part, we find that Butterfly has completely lost her identity. She does not have a religion or a culture anymore, she is half-American, half-Japanese, she has lost herself completely. At the end of the opera, Cio-Cio-san finds her true identity only in the moment when she kills herself by embracing the Japanese tradition of seppuku.

– Would you say that the majority of young men today are like Pinkerton?

– No. Thank God, no. The majority of people are not like Pinkerton. Puccini was probably very angry with the Americans, the American culture. Pinkerton represents all the bad things about Americans, but there are also many good things in the American culture.

– Love is a mutual commitment; do you think Madama Butterfly went thought ‘love’s ordeal’?

– I do not think that Butterfly had a chance to do it, because she was never given an opportunity to live with Pinkerton: her love for Pinkerton is only in her mind, in her imagination. From the very beginning, even before he meets Butterfly, Pinkerton tells Sharpless that this marriage is a fake and he is going to marry an American woman. Therefore, we know from the outset that there is no ordeal, this is all a game, a farce, it is not real.

– Have you ever been to Japan and how long did you study the culture of this country?

– Unfortunately, I never went to Japan, but I do want to go there. I have staged “Madama Butterfly” in 2012 in Italy before. Therefore, I studied Japanese culture for a long time. In order to stage “Madama Butterfly”, you have to know drama theatre. I worked in drama theatre before becoming specialized in opera, you need to work with actors first and then with singers.

– Even though the music has enough of Japanese flavor, Madama Butterfly herself is perceived more like an Italian woman rather than Japanese. What is your opinion?

– Puccini enjoyed himself introducing some Japanese music themes, but in the end, it remains true Italian opera. Thus, sometimes it is very confusing for the listeners, but I think that Puccini’s goal was to create emotions and so, yes, Madama Butterfly seems like an Italian opera singer. In the second part, she wants to be an American woman, which is not quite the same as an Italian woman, but similar, it is a western woman. I think that the emotions and struggle that Butterfly has to go through are characteristic of a person in every part of the world, be it Japan, China, Italy or Australia. We are talking about betrayal, loneliness, money difficulties. All of these are emotions that are the same in every part of the world.

– It is already warm in Italy, how do you like the weather in Astana, have you been here before, do you like the city?

– I have to tell you something. I am an Italian; I live in Rome, a very warm and sunny city. It is a wonderful city. However, I am not in love with spring and summer. I am more of a winter type of man. Therefore, I enjoy the weather in Astana. I like cold weather, so it is not a problem for me. Actually, I was very happy when I came here last week. It was already warm in Rome, and I like to breathe in cold air, so I am a strange Italian, but I do like cold air. I have only been working the entire time, so I am waiting for an opportunity to relax and visit some of Astana because I have only seen the hotel and the opera house so far.

– How do you spend your spare time?

– Usually, I play the piano. I was supposed to be a pianist, studied music at the conservatory. I also cook a lot. I love to cook Italian cuisine, Chinese cuisine, Asian fusion cuisine, so I spend a lot of time cooking, and creating good recipes.

We would like to remind that the premiere of the opera “Madama Butterfly” will take place on April 15 and 16 in the Main Hall of the Astana Opera.

Генеральный спонсор

Спонсоры и партнеры

Лоренцо Амато: «Я – странный итальянец».

Режиссер-постановщик оперы «Мадам Баттерфляй» Лоренцо Амато хорошо чувствует музыку, делится с исполнителями секретами актерского мастерства, а еще любит готовить и создавать новые рецепты. В своем интервью итальянский мастер поделился впечатлениями от работы с казахстанскими оперными певцами и рассказал, чем его привлекла погода Астаны.

_DSC4871

- Вы провели не одну репетицию с нашими артистами, как оцениваете их уровень, подготовку?

- «Мадам Баттерфляй» очень сложна для оперных певцов. Нет никаких различий между итальянской и казахской интерпретациями. Единственное отличие в том, что итальянцам легче понимать и исполнять произведение благодаря знанию языка. Уровень артистов высокий, однако сложности все же возникают. В основном, из-за типа театра, ведь в оперном веризме сила слова, значение каждого слова крайне важны, поэтому свободное владение языком облегчает работу. Особое значение имеет актерская игра, так как эта опера была основана по мотивам драмы Давида Беласко «Гейша».

-Что для вас самое важное в этом спектакле?

-Для меня есть много важных вещей. Первая, конечно, музыка. В опере «Мадам Баттерфляй» она в высшей мере сильна, красива, трогательна, заставляет плакать зрителей во всем мире. Эта опера особенная, она выделяется из всего мирового репертуара. В финале на сцене оказываются две главные героини – две женщины, тенор не играет большой роли. Существуют отношения верности, преданности, выстраивается линия дружбы двух женщин, а мнимая любовь отходит на второй план.

- Какую вы могли бы дать характеристику мадам Баттерфляй, какой вы ее видите?

-Чио-Чио-сан, или мадам Баттерфляй – один из самых трудных персонажей, требующих больших затрат сил. В начале оперы она – молодая девушка, предположительно пятнадцати лет. Позже ей приходится отречься от своих родителей, своей семьи, религии, чтобы выйти замуж за американца с подлыми, отвратительными намерениями, он обманывает ее. Во второй части мы обнаруживаем, что Баттерфляй совершенно утратила свою идентичность, свое «я». У нее больше нет религии, нет культуры, она полу-американка, полу-японка, никто. В финале оперы Чио-Чио-сан обретает себя в тот момент, когда кончает жизнь самоубийством, сделав харакири.

- Можно ли сказать о Пинкертоне, что он – образ современного молодого человека, то есть таких сейчас большинство?

- Нет. Слава Богу, нет. Большинство мужчин не такие, как Пинкертон. Пуччини, возможно, был очень зол на американцев, на американскую культуру. Пинкертон наделен всеми самыми плохими качествами американцев, однако, в американской культуре есть очень много хорошего.

- Любовь – это взаимные обязательства, вы полагаете, мадам Баттерфляй прошла испытание любовью?

-Я не думаю, что Баттерфляй прошла какое-либо испытание, потому что у нее не было возможности пройти его. Не было шанса совместной жизни с Пинкертоном. Любовь к Пинкертону существовала только в ее голове, ее воображении. С самого начала, еще до встречи с Баттерфляй, Пинкертон говорит Шарплесу, что эта женитьба – абсолютный фарс, на самом деле он собирается жениться на американке. Поэтому мы с самого начала знаем, что это не испытание, это игра, фарс, неправда.

- Бывали ли вы когда-либо в Японии, насколько долго изучали культуру этой страны?

- К сожалению, никогда не был в Стране восходящего солнца, очень хочу поехать туда, но не для того, чтобы сделать оперу… Я уже ставил «Мадам Баттерфляй» в 2012 году в Италии. Поэтому мне хорошо известна японская культура, которую изучал долгое время. Чтобы поставить оперу «Мадам Баттерфляй» нужны знания о драматическом театре. Я в нем работал перед тем, как начал специализироваться в опере, сначала нужен опыт работы с актерами и уже потом – с певцами.

- Хотя в музыке присутствует достаточно колорита Японии, сама мадам Баттерфляй воспринимается больше как итальянка, нежели японка. Что вы об этом думаете?

- Пуччини доставляло радость введение некоторых японских музыкальных тем, однако, они не всегда воспринимаются, так как на самом деле — это настоящая итальянская опера, поэтому слушатели иногда сбиваются с толку. Думаю, композитор, в первую очередь, хотел показать эмоции и поэтому, да, мадам Баттерфляй похожа на итальянскую оперную певицу. Во второй части она хочет быть американкой, которая еще не совсем итальянка, но похожа на нее, она – западная женщина. Эти эмоции и борьба, через которые приходится пройти мадам Баттерфляй, характерны для человека в любом уголке мира, будь то Япония, Китай, Италия или Австралия. Мы говорим о предательстве, одиночестве, сложностях с деньгами. Все проблемы одинаковы во всем мире.

- В Италии уже тепло, как вам погода в Астане, бывали ли здесь ранее, нравится ли город?

- Должен вам кое-что рассказать. Я — итальянец, живу в Риме, очень теплом и солнечном городе, это замечательный город. Но весна и лето мне не нравятся. По большей части я любитель зимы. Поэтому наслаждаюсь погодой в Астане. Конечно, для меня холод – не проблема, потому что люблю такую погоду. В действительности я был очень рад, когда приехал сюда, в Риме уже было тепло, а здесь холодный воздух. Я – странный итальянец. Все время работаю, поэтому жду возможности отдохнуть и посмотреть Астану, пока видел только отель и театр.

- Как вы проводите свое свободное время?

- Обычно играю на фортепиано. Предполагалось, что я стану пианистом, изучал музыку в Консерватории. Еще много готовлю, в основном, итальянские блюда, но умею и китайские, различные смешанные азиатские кушанья. Поэтому много времени посвящаю приготовлению пищи и созданию хороших рецептов.

Напомним, что премьера оперы «Мадам Баттерфляй» пройдет 15 и 16 апреля в Большом зале «Астана Опера».

Генеральные партнеры

Спонсоры и партнеры