Artistic Laboratory: “Madama Butterfly on Its Way to the Stage”

For over a hundred years, the work of the great Italian composer G. Puccini “Madama Butterfly” is regularly staged at the opera houses all over the world. Now the love story of Cio-Cio-san can touch the hearts of the audience of the Astana Opera. The masterpiece of the genius composer, staged by the Italian director Lorenzo Amato, will be presented to the viewers on April 15 and 16.

 

_DSC9936

The famous American playwright David Belasco’s one-act play “Madame Butterfly: A Tragedy of Japan”, based on the novel by John Luther Long, serves as a storyline for the opera. The tragic fate of a young geisha, described by Belasco, made a strong impression on the composer.

A Cozy House and Everything in It…

Celebrated Italian masters – Ezio Frigerio and the Academy Award winner Franca Squarciapino worked on the design of the production in the Astana Opera. What did they come up with? Let us find out…

We are observing the work of the Department of Stage Machinery. Here is an 18-meter structure, which reminds of a pool, yet does not give a clear idea of ​​what it will be. Nevertheless, soon it will be covered with optical electrical fiber, differently colored strips of lights, lamps, filled with water and turned into a lake. A two-storey house of Madame Butterfly will be situated on its shore. The tank can hold eight cubic meters of water (this amount also fits into a tank of a KAMAZ watering car). Special pumps will be filling the lake.

It is not so simple to portray Japanese landscape. For example, the work on the sakura trees had lasted for almost a month. With the help of welding, they made iron trunks, finished them with fiberglass, giving the impression of real bark, and only then with the special fastening systems attached branches to them. After a couple of days, delicate pink flowers will blossom on these cumbersome structures and the trees will be moved to the front of the house of the main heroine, behind which there will be velvety green lawns.

_DSC3325

_DSC3439

One of the podiums serves as the base for Butterfly’s two-storey house. Its size is 29m x 4m x 80 cmh. The wooden house, situated on the shore of the lake, will be surrounded by picturesque landscape. Its views are depicted on hand-painted panels. They can be moved apart to allow viewers to see the image of the city, stretching on a hill. To all of this the play of light and 3D effects will be added. The basis of the house is an aluminum frame covered with scenic fiberglass. There are elements in it that we are making in collaboration with our Italian partners. Set Designer Ezio Frigerio controls the entire set production cycle. The total weight of the scenery is around 7 tons,” said the head of the Artistic and Production Department Victor Carare.

_DSC3330

_DSC8962

_DSC8968

_DSC9980

_DSC8982

_DSC9918

This is not the first production on the Japanese theme for Ezio Frigerio and Franca Squarciapino; moreover, their works were shown and recognized in this country.

Sketches sent by the Italian grand masters are carefully examined at the Scenography Projects and Staging Work Implementation Management Department. The list is rather long: tatami, tombs, kakemono, banners… as well as paper, iron, wooden lanterns, vases, pillows, lamps, a bamboo stick, a pocket bag with coins, a small altar with the Buddha, trays, sake set, a Japanese table, a smoking pipe, a mirror with a handle, a tanto (Japanese dagger), a cigar-case, a pocket watch, registration book with pen and ink, tea set, a rocking horse, a suitcase, a box for cosmetics. Altogether too long to list everything. The staff creates drafts based on the sketches, and then the prop masters bring them to life.

_DSC9913

_DSC9930

_DSC9945

_DSC9977

_DSC3351

_DSC3342

_DSC9915

_DSC3378

The preparatory work on the props goes on at first,” says the prop master Anastasia Son. “Right now I am working on the rocking horse. The frame, made by my colleagues, is pasted over with papier mache and then painted, which does not take much time. This horse is designed for a child’s weight. If a mischievous child artist decides to swing on it, he or she can safely do so. These are the vases, one is more elongated, and the other rounded. They convey the spirit of the Japanese culture in the late XIX – early XX century. Each production brings something new. The sketches arrive and we are surprised by some of the things.”

_DSC9966

Anastasia’a colleague – Alina Abilova – is making papier mache sake cups. These need to be very narrow._DSC3415

_DSC3428
_DSC9965

These are deep; sometimes it is impossible to reach the bottom with fingers, in which case we use brushes. There will be about forty of such cups. However, in case of breakage, we make extras of everything. Some of the props are made of wood, for example, a lantern. The tombstones are made of foam.”

 _DSC3391

_DSC3408

_DSC3352

_DSC9952

Rolling up the sleeves

The work in the costume shop is well underway. There are about a hundred costumes in total; all of them are cut and sewn in the Astana Opera. Franca Squarciapino has made beautiful sketches. She also identified the necessary materials, as well as the type of painting is to be applied to them. Each of her costumes is a work of art. Headdresses, wigs and geta (Japanese sandals) will complete the heroines’ looks.

_DSC8960

The artists will have to learn to walk in the narrow kimonos and get used to the unusual sleeves. It was believed that the longer the sleeves – meant to display luxury fabrics – are, the richer the Japanese woman is. Long sleeves also represent the status: they are strictly for the unmarried girls. Short-sleeved kimonos are for the married ladies.

 _DSC9093

_DSC9039

_DSC9005

All the kimonos are divided into groups, some are bright and colorful, for the geishas, others – in soft colors – are for the regular women. Costumes are adapted for theatrical performance: if a traditional kimono is adorned with a long obi, the theatrical kimono will have a shorter one, with hooks. This will facilitate the work of costumers, since putting on a kimono is a ritual that takes time. The national style costume for Butterfly’s son is made of real silk, like all the other stage costumes for the opera. The process of working on the costumes in the Astana Opera is in full control of Ms. Squarciapino’s assistant Assel Dosmuratova.

For Franca Scuarciapino, this will be the third Madama Butterfly in her artistic career. She speaks about her work with great pleasure.

Butterfly’s red wedding kimono is distinguished by its brightness, it is embroidered with gold thread. In other scenes, the heroine appears in write kimonos. The production will be very colorful, spectacular,” promises the designer.

To the question whether it is difficult to study a new culture, she says that it is always difficult.

The culture of the Land of the Rising Sun is very interesting; it influenced my perception of national traditions. For example, when visiting an exhibition in the museum, we can admire the exposition, consider every detail. It is the same with a theatrical production: the audience can enjoy the external beauty, but to know the culture of the people in depth, it is necessary to acquire knowledge, to study it closely.

_DSC9904

About Love…

While the hammering and the sewing is going on in the workshops, the soloists are studying the fine matter of human relations in the rehearsal halls. Keeping in mind that the action of the opera takes place in a house near Nagasaki, where the United States Navy Lieutenant B. F. Pinkerton, about to marry a young geisha Cio-Cio-san, known as Butterfly, rented this house for 999 years with a convenient caveat: the possibility of breaking the contract at any time. The young playboy perceives a marriage in the Japanese tradition as another romantic adventure.

Once music critics attributed the success of the opera to the fashion for the eastern exoticism. However, the composer was more interested in the psychological conflict than the recreation of the Japanese flavor. “I am not made for heroic actions. I love the beings that own a heart just like ours, who are made from hopes and illusions, who have thrills of joy and their hours of melancholy, who cry without screaming and suffer with an interior bitterness,” wrote the famous Italian composer Giacomo Puccini.

_DSC0020

This is the third production of “Madama Butterfly” in my artistic career. I look forward to the premiere with a lot of thrill and excitement. It is a great honor and responsibility to sing in the production created by a very famous Italian team and our principal conductor Alan Buribayev. The performance is difficult for the singer, both physically and psychologically. In order to secure her child’s future, a selfless Japanese woman – Madama Butterfly, the daughter of a samurai – will have to die. Her son will remain with his father, and, perhaps, one day will become a military officer as well. The production is difficult for the performer, as it becomes a kind of a marathon of endurance. Moreover, there will be no intermission between the second and third acts. The entire time, the singer of the title role must remain onstage under the spotlight under a thick layer of makeup in a heavy costume. This will require a lot of strength and physical fitness, – said the singer of the part of Cio-Cio-san Zhannat Baktai.

Butterfly is the most complex and multi-faceted of all of Puccini’s female characters. Defenseless, loyal and uncompromising, she has a great deal of inner strength. In the opera, Cio-Cio-san’s emotional drama is disclosed deeply, comprehensively, revealing a wealth of nuances. The leading soloists of the Astana Opera Zhupar Gabdullina, Aigul Niyazova, Bibigul Zhanuzak are also preparing for this challenging role.

Puccini created a true musical tragedy, praising the high human emotions in the language of music.

Генеральный спонсор

Спонсоры и партнеры

Лаборатория творчества: «Мадам Баттерфляй» на пути к сцене

Сочинение великого итальянского композитора Дж. Пуччини «Мадам Баттерфляй» более ста лет не сходит со сцен оперных театров мира. И теперь история любви Чио-Чио-cан тронет сердца зрителей «Астана Опера». Гениальное творение композитора в прочтении итальянского режиссера Лоренцо Амато можно будет увидеть, услышать и оценить 15 и 16 апреля.

_DSC9936

Сюжетом для оперы послужила пьеса «Гейша» известного американского драматурга Давида Беласко, созданная на основе повести Лютера Лонга. Трагическая судьба юной гейши, описанная Беласко, произвела сильное впечатление на композитора.

Уютный дом и все, что в нем…

Над художественным оформлением спектакля в «Астана Опера» работают прославленные итальянские мастера – Эцио Фриджерио и обладательница премии «Оскар» Франка Скуарчапино. Что получилось? Сейчас узнаем…

Если в других театрах мира декорации этого спектакля показывали лишь часть дома главной героини, озеро и пейзажи природы, то в «Астана Опера» все по-другому. Понаблюдаем за работой отдела машинистов сцены. Вот эта 18-метровая конструкция, отдаленно напоминающая бассейн, пока еще не дает ясного представления о том, что это будет. Но скоро ее оформят оптическим электроволокном, световыми рейками разных цветов, лампами, наполнят водой и получится озеро, на берегу которого будет стоять двухэтажный дом мадам Баттерфляй. Резервуар вмещает 8 кубометров воды (это объем цистерны поливальной машины КАМАЗ). Заполнять это озеро будут специальные насосы.

Японский пейзаж изображать тоже не так просто. Вот, к примеру, над деревьями сакуры рабочие трудятся уже почти месяц. С помощью сварки они делают железный ствол, затем отделывают его стеклопластиком, что создает впечатление настоящей древесной коры, и только потом специальными крепежными системами присоединяют к нему ветви. Пока это громоздкие конструкции, но спустя пару дней они зацветут нежными розовыми цветами и будут перемещены к фасаду дома главной героини, за которым будут зеленеть бархатистые лужайки.

_DSC3325

_DSC3439

– Основанием двухэтажного дома Баттерфляй послужил один из подиумов. Его размер – 29м х 4м х 80смh. Деревянный дом, стоящий на берегу озера, будет окружать прекрасная природа, ее виды изображены на расписанных вручную панелях. Они смогут раздвигаться, что позволит увидеть зрителям изображение города, раскинувшегося на холме. Ко всему этому прибавится игра света и 3D-эффекты. Основа дома – алюминиевый каркас, покрытый сценографическим стеклопластиком. Есть в нем элементы, которые мы делаем в сотрудничестве с нашими итальянскими партнерами. Весь цикл производства декораций контролирует сценограф Эцио Фриджерио. Общий вес декораций составляет около 7 тонн, – рассказал руководитель художественно-производственного комплекса Виктор Караре.

_DSC3330

_DSC8962

_DSC8968

_DSC9980

_DSC8982

_DSC9918

Эцио Фриджерио и Франка Скуарчапино создают не первый спектакль о Японии, более того, их работы были показаны и признаны в этой стране.

В управлении реализации сценографических проектов и постановочных работ с интересом разбирают эскизы, полученные от итальянских гранд-мастеров. Список достаточно широк: татами, гробницы, вывески из ткани, знамена… А еще бумажные, железные, деревянные фонари, вазы, подушки, лампа, бамбуковая палочка, карманный мешок с монетами, маленький алтарь с Буддой, подносы, набор для саке, японский столик, курительная трубка, зеркало с ручкой, танто (японский кинжал), портсигар, карманные часы, регистрационная книга с ручкой и чернилами, чайный набор, лошадка-качалка, чемодан, шкатулка для косметики. В общем, всего и не перечислить. Сотрудники управления создают чертежи по эскизам, а затем уже бутафоры-декораторы воплощают их в жизнь.

_DSC9913

_DSC9930

_DSC9945

_DSC9977

_DSC3351

_DSC3342

_DSC9915

_DSC3378

– Над реквизитом вначале идет подготовительная работа, – рассказывает бутафор-декоратор Анастасия Сон. – Сейчас я занимаюсь созданием лошадки-качалки. Каркас, сделанный моими коллегами-мужчинами, обклеивается папье-маше, дальше следует этап росписи, он занимает не так много времени. Такая лошадь рассчитана на вес ребенка. И если озорной малыш-артист решит покачаться на ней, то может смело это сделать. А это вазы, одна более вытянутая, другая округлая. Они передают дух японской культуры конца XIX – начала ХХ века. Каждый спектакль несет нечто новое. Приходят эскизы, и мы удивляемся каким-то вещам.

_DSC9966

Коллега Анастасии – Алина Абилова – делает из папье-маше стаканчики для саке. Эта посуда должна быть очень узкой.

_DSC3415

_DSC3428
_DSC9965

– Они глубокие, иногда пальцы просто не достают до дна, и тогда мы прибегаем к помощи кисточки. Таких стаканов будет около сорока. Но всю работу мы делаем с запасом, на случай поломки. Отдельный реквизит выполнен из натурального дерева, например, фонарь, а надгробные камни сделаны из пенопласта.

 _DSC3391

_DSC3408

_DSC3352

_DSC9952

Засучив рукава

Полным ходом идет работа в пошивочном цехе. Все костюмы, их около ста, шьются в «Астана Опера». Художник Франка Скуарчапино сделала прекрасные эскизы. Также она определила, какие нужны материалы, и какой на них должен быть нанесен тип росписи. Каждый ее костюм – произведение искусства. Законченные образы героинь создадут также головные уборы, парики и специальная обувь (гэта – японские сланцы).

_DSC8960

Артисткам предстоит научиться ходить в узких кимоно и привыкать к необычным рукавам. Считалось, что чем длиннее рукав, – а это наличие роскошной ткани, – тем богаче японская женщина. Длинный рукав также говорит о статусе: его носят девушки. Кимоно с коротким рукавом – для замужних дам.

 _DSC9093

_DSC9039

_DSC9005

Все кимоно разделены по группам, одни – яркие, они предназначены для гейш, другие – в спокойных тонах – для обычных женщин. Костюмы адаптированы для театральной постановки: если традиционное кимоно украшает длинный пояс оби, то в театре он станет короче, на нем появятся крючки. Это облегчит работу костюмерам, так как одевание настоящего кимоно – целый ритуал, требующий времени. Костюм для сына Баттерфляй сшит в национальном стиле из настоящего шелка, впрочем, как и все остальные сценические наряды для этой оперы. Процесс работы над костюмами в «Астана Опера» полностью контролирует дизайнер театральных костюмов Асель Досмуратова.

Для Франки Скуарчапино опера «Мадам Баттерфляй» будет третьей по счету в творческом багаже. О работе над ней она говорит с большим удовольствием.

– Красное свадебное кимоно Баттерфляй отличается своей яркостью, оно вышито золотыми нитями. В остальных сценах героиня появляется в белых кимоно. Этот спектакль будет очень красочный, эффектный, – обещает художница.

На вопрос, сложно ли изучать новую культуру, она говорит, что это всегда трудно.

- Культура Страны восходящего солнца очень интересна, она повлияла на мое восприятие национальных традиций. Например, когда мы посещаем выставку в музее, то можем восхищаться экспозицией, рассматривать каждую деталь. Так же и с постановкой: зрители могут наслаждаться внешней красотой, но чтобы глубоко познать культуру народа, нужно добывать знания, учиться.

_DSC9904

О любви…

Пока в художественно-постановочных цехах бойко стучат молотки и весело строчат швейные машинки, в репетиционных классах солисты изучают тонкую материю – человеческие отношения. Вспомним, что действие оперы разворачивается в доме в окрестностях Нагасаки. Американец Пинкертон, офицер флота, собираясь жениться на юной гейше Чи-Чио-сан, по прозвищу Баттерфляй, снял этот домик в аренду на 999 лет с удобной оговоркой – возможностью отказаться от этого пункта договора в любой момент. Молодой повеса воспринимает брак, который должен состояться по японскому обычаю, как ещё одно романтическое приключение.

Когда-то музыкальные критики объясняли успех этой постановки модой на восточную экзотику. Однако композитора психологический конфликт волновал больше, чем воссоздание японского колорита. «Я не создан для героических поступков. Я люблю тех, чьи сердца устроены, как у всех нас, тех, кто питается надеждами и иллюзиями, тех, у кого есть свои проблески радости и дни печали, тех, которые плачут без крика и страдают тайно, со скрытой горечью», – так писал выдающийся итальянский композитор Джакомо Пуччини.

_DSC0020

- В моей творческой карьере это уже третья постановка «Мадам Баттерфляй». Я жду премьеру с большим трепетом и волнением. Петь в спектакле очень известных итальянских постановщиков, нашего главного дирижера Алана Бурибаева – большая честь и ответственность. Спектакль для исполнителя сложен, как физически, так и психологически. Смерть самоотверженной японской женщины в этой постановке никто не отменял: мадам Баттерфляй – дочь самурая – должна будет умереть, чтобы обеспечить безбедное будущее своему ребенку. Он останется с отцом и, возможно, будет, как и тот, военным. Для певицы эта постановка сложна, поскольку становится своего рода марафоном на выносливость. Тем более, что между вторым и третьим актами не будет антракта. Необходимо все время находиться на сцене под толстым слоем грима, в тяжелых костюмах под светом софитов. Это большое испытание, потребуется много сил, физическая подготовка, – отметила исполнительница партии Чио-Чио-сан Жаннат Бактай.

Образ Баттерфляй – самый сложный и многогранный в галерее пуччиниевских женских характеров. Беззащитная, верная, она обладает внутренней силой и не способна на компромисс. Душевная драма Чио-Чио-сан в опере раскрывается глубоко, всесторонне, во всем богатстве эмоциональных оттенков. Эту непростую партию также готовят ведущие солистки театра «Астана Опера» Жупар Габдуллина, Айгуль Ниязова и Бибигуль Жанузак.

Пуччини создал подлинную музыкальную трагедию, которая на все времена сохранила главное свое достоинство – воспетые в музыке высокие человеческие чувства.

Генеральный спонсор

Спонсоры и партнеры